Roland D. Roberts

roland robertsJanuary 5, 1934 – September 2, 2016

Roland Roberts born January 5, 1934 in Taft, Texas.  Died Huntsville, Alabama Sept 2, 2016.

Preceded in death by wife, Edith “Honey” Roberts, parents, Verne and Thelma Roberts.  Sisters Raudolyn Roberts, Wanda Baxter.

Survived by Sisters, Mary Eunice Bull, Sue Cody, Joyce Maxwell, Sybil Morgan (Douglas).  Close friend, Linda Hopewell.  Children, Rachel Corlew (Joe), Kevin Roberts, Kippie Roberts, Leigh Lakes (Peter).  Grandchildren, Joshua Corlew, Abby Hurt (John), Dansen Roberts, Heath Lakes, Meredith Lakes.  Great Grandchildren Stirling Hurt, Adair Hurt.

Roland Roberts died peacefully surrounded by loved ones on September 2nd, 2016 at the age of 83.  Roland’s childhood home was Taft, Texas.  He was a 1955 graduate of David Lipscomb College where he met his wife of 39 years, Edith (Honey).  He received his Masters Degree in Biblical Studies from Harding University.  He and his family made New Hope, Alabama their home in 1963 where lifelong friendships were made and treasured.  Roland taught school at Madison Academy and Owens Cross Roads Jr. High.  He was a Gospel Preacher (past 9 years at the Columbus City Church of Christ), and Journalist  for the Antique Gazette and Alabama Farmers’ Cooperative.

Visitation will be Tuesday 4:00 PM to 7:00 PM at New Hope Funeral Home Chapel. Additional Visitation will be Wednesday 10:00 AM to 11:00 AM at Mayfair Church of Christ.  Services will follow at 11:00 AM at the church.

Interment will be in the Maple Hill Cemetery.

In Lieu of flowers please make memorial donations in memory of Roland D. Roberts to your favorite charity.

http://www.nhfh.net

Uncategorized

15 thoughts on “Roland D. Roberts

  1. Our families became friends in 1969-70 and forged a wonderful and cherished love for each other’s families. We treasured the Roberts’ trips to Texas and calls, letters and fond memories. Now, Honey, Roland, Mom, and Dad are again reunited and sharing in that home they all longed for. Rachel, Kevin, Kippie and Leigh, thank you for sharing your time with the “Bulls’ Herd.” Know our doors ar always open should your travels come this way!

    • Thank you for these wonderful thoughts! I enjoy reading the accomplishments of all in your family and I am glad FB makes it so easy to continue the tradition of staying in touch that our parents set:)

  2. Mr. Roberts was also my teacher at OCR Middle School and was also a friend of my mother,Opal Guthrie, cause she worked at the school during that same time. My prayers go out to the family. Kippie I’m very sorry to hear of your lose. If I can help in any way you have my email please feel free to contact me. God be with you and your family.

  3. Mr.Roberts was also my teacher at OCR he was a caring man with a huge heart and wanted you to be successful. And he made sure you understood everything.great man and friend

  4. Roland was one of a kind. He was a true friend to me. I can’t believe this i just spoke to him a few days ago and we said a prayer together before we hung up and the last words we said were i love you. He was just a great godly man. I would clean his house and help watch his dogs when he would go out of town. After i moved away from Grant, Al. we would always talk at least once or twice a week. I always considered him as part of my family. I truly loved him. I am so shocked. Kippie and the rest of the family i am so truly sorry that you people have lost such a great person who i really cared for. I can’t imagine the pain and hurt you guys are filling because i am truly devastated. I can’t stop cry and hearing and thinking of him always making me laugh and praying together. We really had a great friendship and i know he will be watching over all of us. I will be at his funeral Wednesday but i can’t make vistation Tuesday because i have to work. I wish i could have gotten to talk to him one last time. I’m truly sorry for Rolands family because he was one of a kind and i will miss him so much.

    • Shannon, thank you so much for caring for him and taking care of his dogs. We are in the process of being sure they all go to good homes. Thank you so much for this sweet post:)

  5. Mr. Roberts was such a sweet, kind, gentle soul! I still remember the years he would come to New Hope Elementary and present a skit on Johnny Appleseed for the students. He would be dressed in costume with a pot on his head and share the story of the life and times of the character. The students loved it and so did Mr. Roberts! He brought the book legend / character to life for them and increased their desire to learn and read. In his own little way he inspired the youth of New Hope. Mr. Roberts will be missed in the New Hope Community! Our thoughts and prayers are with the Roberts Family. May The Lord bless each of you with strength and peace in the days ahead! With our deepest sympathy!

    • Thank you for your kind words and especially for sharing his Johnny Appleseed days! We were all trying to think how to work that into his obituary a couple of nights ago and you have done that for us now-thank you!!

  6. My thoughts and prayers for the family. Mr. Roberts was a kind and gentle soul and will be greatly missed by many. I am thankful that God allowed our paths to cross. We will all miss him coming to the bank. I will miss my sweet friend, talking with him, his smile, his stories and jokes, but mostly I will miss him coming in on Friday for popcorn and saving root beer and butterscotch suckers for him!! God bless you my dear sweet friend!

  7. I met Mr. Roberts a few short months ago, while working alongside him as a volunteer at the Madison County GOP Headquarters in Huntsville, Early on it was obvious he was quick with a joke, loved a good cup of coffee, had a deep love for the history of our great nation and most importantly our risen Lord. He will be sorely missed by those of us who were fortunate to know him.

  8. Mr. Roberts was my teacher also in Jr. High at Owens Cross Roads. I remember his love of putting on the plays. He would allow us to work on the props as long as our grades were good and work done. He helped us have a concession stand during our breaks also. He made learning more than just books, homework and test. I am sure that I didn’t appreciate his efforts back then, but now as time has passed I have come to appreciate the time he spent with us. I had the privilege of seeing him in Walmart a couple of years ago maybe, to my surprise he did remember me and even ask how my siblings were doing and called them by name. That is amazing to me. I am sure, Mark that we drove him crazy back in those days. He was a great educator and had his full heart in his job. That alone speaks so highly of him. He loved making a difference in our lives, it was more than a job to him. May you rest in sweet peace, Mr. Roberts. Your kind spirit will be missed I am sure.

Leave a Reply

