William Thomas “Bill” Hill

william hillJanuary 25, 1924 – October 18, 2014

William Thomas “Bill” Hill, 90, of New Hope, passed away Saturday.

Bill was born to two of the most wonderful and loving parents Sam Tilton Hill and Gracie Bell Vann Hill of the Bend of Paint Rock in New Hope, Alabama. Bill was from a very large family of twenty-one brothers and sisters. Bill had three daughters that he always referred to as his “three little girls” that he loved better than life itself. He also loved and cherished his grandchildren, great grandchildren and great great grandson. Family was what was most important to him his whole life. Bill was also a U.S. Army veteran of WWII and was honored with a bronze star for serving his country.

In addition to his parents and siblings Bill was also preceded in death by a son, William Thomas Hill, Jr. and grandson, Bradley Guthrie.

Surviving are daughters, Kathey Hill Hamer, Deborah Hill Hollingsworth, Ann Hill (Larry) Graves and their mother, Magdalene Hornbuckle Hill, grandchildren, Todd Hamer, BJ Guthrie, Chris Hollingsworth, Tami Hamer and Eric Hollingsworth, great grandchildren, Nikki, Shelby, Bobby, Madelyne and Ava, great, great grandson, Memphis, brother, Sammie Hill, sisters, Novella Clark, Louise Warren and Ethel Payne, and many nieces and nephews that he loved dearly.

Visitation will be Monday 5:00 PM to 8:00 PM at New Hope Funeral Home. Services will be held at New Hope Funeral Home Chapel, Tuesday at 2:00 pm with Bro. Wayne Walls officiating.

Interment will be in the Whitaker Cemetery.

http://www.nhfh.net

Uncategorized

18 thoughts on “William Thomas “Bill” Hill

    • Cheryl,
      Thanks so much! He sent word to Mom that he loved her and wanted her there….and she was…a bittersweet love story!!

      Kathey 🙂

  1. Deb, Your Dad will always be with you in more ways than you can imagine. My Dad left this life 34 years ago, but he is with me every day.

  2. I’m so sorry about y’all’s lost, I come to no Bill when I was 18 or 19 years old I think, my Sister and I lived with Bill not sure about the year, but I looked up to him like a dad, he was so funny, I remember a time me and my sister went some where with Bill, and he said to Lisa do you want to put her out of the car and Lisa said yes lets put her out, it kinda scared me a little, but Bill kept going, I have alot of things I could put down here but I’m gonna miss him, rest in peace Bill 😩 your friend Tammy Dudley Davis ♥

  3. Ann I’m sorry for the loss of your daddy and the rest of the family, I no how you feel I lost my daddy in 2003 and lost my Momma in 2003 they were 5 months a part, I new Chris, and Eric, and, Bradley, Bobby, but if I missed anyone I’m sorry, the ones that I put down is the ones I no, May god bless you and comfort ya’ll ♥ Tammy Dudley Davis, Rest in peace Bill ♥

  4. So sorry for your loss. Bill was a good Friend to me and my husband, he always talked about God and I loved listening to him, Bill loved all of his family dearly always saying good things. He will be missed. Barry and Irene Andrews

  5. Sorry to all the family for your loss as Bill was a wonderful man and known by everybody to whom ever lived in New Hope . We all as you will miss him dearly . He had such a good caring and loving heart . Many story’s I could tell he was my mothers 2 nd. cousin and came over a lot when he was able too and we had some family history going on told many things about the family who was and was not kin to us we would laugh for hours . WE LOVE AND WILL ALWAYS MISS YOU BILL R.I.P Teri Simmons Marie Vann Simmons

Leave a Reply

