Bonnie Bell Maples Cloud

bonnie cloudMay 6, 1937 – July 4, 2013

Bonnie Bell Maples Cloud, 76, of Huntsville, passed away Thursday.

She was preceded in death by father, Willie Maples, mother, Evelyn Bates Maples, sister, Doris Cross, brother, Gene Maples, brother, Stanley Maples, and brother, Ed Maples.

Bonnie was a very brave and strong-willed woman, overcoming many medical obstacles throughout her lifetime.  Not only was she determined to live a full life, but also to enjoy her family by always showing her love and support.  She and C.A. married September 19, 1959.  They would have celebrated their 54th wedding anniversary this year. She was raised to work hard when she was a young girl and remained that way throughout her life.  She often spoke of chopping and picking cotton and how she missed it.  She spoke of picking 200 pounds of cotton a day and how the man she picked it for told her she must be kin to Willie Maples.  When she would drive by a field full of cotton she always wished she could stop and pick some.  She would laugh telling the story of her sister, Mary, cutting her heel with the hoe in the cotton field. She always said young people today could not handle working hard in the fields and struggling like they did years ago just to survive.  She played different roles throughout her life.  She worked at Piggly Wiggly in New Hope for many years, helped C.A. farm with crops and cattle, and also with his commercial fishing by baiting and racking his trot lines and building his gill nets, processing fish eggs for caviar, and musseling.  She was also a housewife in addition to being an extraordinary wife, mother and grandmother.  She always loved flowers and showed that with her beautiful, vivid yard up until she was unable to maintain them.  She enjoyed putting out several hummingbird feeders and sitting on the porch watching them.  Christmas was her favorite time of the year; She always had C.A. on the ladder, putting up lights and other decorations while she would decorate the inside.  She loved the Lord and enjoyed going to church with Ann when she could.  She was the backbone of the family.  Always trying to keep her brothers and sisters in contact with each other, she would organize a yearly family reunion, where everyone loved her good country cooking that she brought to the reunion. She was an amazing woman, wife, mother, grandmother and friend that words cannot describe.
She will always be truly loved and missed, but now her pain and suffering is over and she is with the Lord, her savior, and loved ones in heaven.

Surviving are husband, Conward Odell “CA” Cloud of Huntsville, daughter, Laura Cloud Hayes of Huntsville, granddaughter, Stephanie (Dustin) Patterson, grandson, Brandon Hayes, son-in-law, Kerry Hayes, sister, Mary Bailey of TN, brother, R.L. Maples of Scottsboro, brother, Wayne Maples of Guntersville, brother, Neal Maples of Albertville, brother, Earl Maples of TN, and brother, Billy Maples.

Visitation will be Saturday 5:00 PM to 8:00 PM at New Hope Funeral Home. Services will be held at New Hope Funeral Home Chapel, Sunday at 1:00 pm.

Interment will be in the Cloud Cemetery.

http://www.nhfh.net

Uncategorized

22 thoughts on “Bonnie Bell Maples Cloud

  1. Momma, I miss and love you so much!! You were such a brave and strong woman. I admire you and I wish I could be half the woman you were. Letting go of you has been the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my life. If the Lord searched the world over again he could not have blessed me with a better mother. You were such an AWESOME and BEAUTIFUL woman. You will always be in my, daddy, Stephanie and Brandon’s hearts. There will not be a day that goes by that we will not think ofnor miss you. We love you so much.

    • Laura you don’t know me, but I am James Payne’s sister. Your mother was of the sweetest, kindest women I have known. You are right, you could not have had a better mother.
      God Bless you and your family, and your dad as you all struggle to get through all of this. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.
      I have know your dad, CA, all of my life and I’ve always liked and respected him. He and my brother James were great friends when they were boys together in Clouds Cove.
      He and your mother came to James’s funeral and it meant so much to me to see them.
      Please give my best to your day and please know you all are in my thoughts and prayers.
      Sincerely, Carol Clark Arrington

  2. Mammie was the best when I stayed over there for the summer she would play ball with me. But this year she wasn’t able to play ball with me. Mammie got sick a lot so she can’t. But I would take care of mammie because when i was sick she took care of me. She would make me good old grits that I would eat every morning. Then she would fix me a bologna sandwich for lunch. She wanted me to eat right so I started and I lost 14 pounds and mammie loved it when i told her how much weight i lost. Mammie is the best grandma a boy could ever have.
    Love Forever,
    Brandon Hayes

  3. Laura, I’m so sorry to hear about your Mama. She made me think of my Mama when us girls would hang out at your house. And I cried when I read what Brandon wrote. I want to be that kind of grandmother to my grand kids. I’m thinking of and praying for you, your daddy, and kids. Love, Tracy Lang

  4. Laura, you and I were blessed beyond words with the parents that were chosen for us. I loved your mothers open and frank manner and how she adored and loved your dad just as my Mom loved Daddy. I always loved it when Dad and Mom would go to your house for a visit. Great memories that I will always cherish.

  5. I got to know Mrs. Bonnie a few years ago while attending Clouds Cove community church.She was very devoted to God and Family and I admired her for that.I am thankful to have known her and Mr.Cloud and my daddy (Marlon Young) really thought the world of both of them as well.I am so sorry for your loss.

  6. Laura, mine and Bill’s thoughts are with all of you during this terrible time. Remember that Bill is off Friday,Saturday and Sunday. Take care.

  7. Laura, I am at a loss for adequate words to express my sadness for you. I know heaven just received one of the most special angels. You are a reflection of your mom in the way you treat people with respect them and not to mention the way you make each person feel loved. I am so sorry for your loss. If you need anything even if it’s just a shoulder to cry on or an ear to listen I’m always here for you. Love You..

  8. Laura my heart goes out to you, CA and your kids. When I think of Aunt Bonnie I hear her laugh. She always made us feel welcome as kids and adults. I have so many memories there’s no way I could put them on here. One that comes to mind is when she would call her baby pigs and you would think maybe a couple and it into being like 50 and all would coming running. Growing up we always look forward to going to CA and aunt Bonnie’s house for the summers loved it,going to miss aunt Bonnie with all my heart!!!!!! Laura if yall need anything l’m here. Love y’all

    said she loved all of them. when she called them they would all come running it was a sight

  9. Laura, we are so sorry for your loss. We know how close you were to your mom. She was the backbone of the family and you will carry that on because you are a strong woman too. We are so thankful that Mammie and Papa has always been there for y’all and that Brandon got to spend so much time with her. I know Brandon adored his Mammie as much as she adored him. She will be missed dearly. We love you so much and are praying that God will give y’all the strength to get through the tough days ahead….

Leave a Reply

