Glen “Fuz” Bates

glenn batesNovember 8, 1943 – December 31, 2012

Glen “Fuz” Bates, 69, of New Hope, passed away Monday. He retired from the YMCA after 23 years as director of New Hope branch. He was a member of the Cedar Point Baptist Church.

He was preceded in death by father, Charlie Bates, mother, Effie Sue Paseur Bates, brothers, Robert Bates, Ollie Bates, Dave Bates, and sisters, Margie Pence and Sadie Clark.

Surviving are wife, Jeanette Bates of New Hope, AL, son, Anthony (Carol) Bates of New Hope, daughter, Shallon (Brian) Rogers of Grant, daughter, Stefanie (Nathaniel) Baker of New Hope, son, Ricky (Jennifer) Lang of Huntsville, grandchildren, Alan Michael, Taylor, Nathan, Alexandra, Delaney, Abigail, Jackson, Mia, Kaylee, Blake, and Blair, brother, Don (Dorothy) Bates of New Hope, brother, Leland Bates of New Hope, mother-in-law, Sarah Claxton of New Hope, sister-in-law, Cathy (Wayne) Guerin of New Hope, and several nieces & nephews, and his family at Cedar Point Baptist Church.

Visitation will be Thursday 5:00 PM to 8:00 PM at New Hope Funeral Home. Services will be held at Cedar Point Baptist Church, Friday at 11:00 am with Ricky Quinn officiating. His body will be at the church 1 hour prior to the service.

Interment will be in the Kennamer Cemetery.

http://www.nhfh.net

Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “Glen “Fuz” Bates

  1. Son, Dorothy,Leland, Jeanette and the while family I an so sorry for your lose. Glen who a good person, growing up around him let me know that. I an without words. I wish I could be there with you all, but my husband has the same decease and cancer added to it. I don’t leave him now. Just know I an thinking about you all and all of you are in my prayers. And please keep Paul in your prayers. I love you all. Linda

  2. Anthony, and the entire family. I am so sorry for your loss. Glen and I were friends and have been since schools days. I understand your pain because I have lost both of my parents and it
    does get easier but it takes a while. Some days when you want to talk with him it will seem like yesterday and at other times it will seek like it has already been years. Just know that he loved each of your dearly. You are in my thoughts and prayers.
    Brenda B. King

Leave a Reply

