Billy G. “Goat” Jones, Sr.

June 13, 1946 – May 27, 2012

The New Hope and surrounding communities deeply mourn the passing of a man that devoted a lifetime to his community, loved ones, public service and his profession as owner and managing director of New Hope Funeral Home. Billy Gardiner Jones, Sr., 65, of New Hope passed away peacefully Sunday evening surrounded by his family. He will always be remembered for his kind and giving heart, his love for his community, his quick wit and great personality. Billy was also known by everyone as “Goat”, a nickname his dad gave him as a child that stayed with him his entire life. He served as the mayor of the City of New Hope for 8 years and 12 years as a City Councilman. He also served on TARCOG, actively served on New Hope City Planning Commission, Founders day Committee, and helped to establish and operate the Community Ambulance Service which served the surrounding communities for many years. He wanted what was best for New Hope and wanted to see it continually grow in a positive manner. He also served his community in his profession as a Funeral Service Professional for 50 years. He became one of the owners of New Hope Funeral Home in 1975. He loved the business of being able to help the people of his community and the camaraderie of the people of which so many became very dear friends. He will be truly missed by family, friends and all who knew him.

He was preceded in death by father, Henry Clay Jones, mother, Annie Elizabeth Lewis Jones, and one brother, Junior Jones.

Surviving are wife, Glenda Whitt Jones of New Hope, son, Billy G. (Ginger) Jones Jr. of New Hope, son, Tommy L. (Jannifer) Jones of New Hope, grandson, Tyler L. Jones, granddaughter, Cassie M. Jones, brother, Thomas (Joan) Jones of Owens Cross Roads, brother, Jimmy (June) Jones of Huntsville, sister, Margaret Brockway of New Hope, sister, Mary Mitchell of New Hope, sister, Martha Martin of New Hope, sister, Nancy (Ray) Pierce of New Hope, sister, Joyce (Calvin) Travis of Harvest, sister, Betty Jacob of New Hope, numerous nieces, nephews, great nieces and great nephews.

Visitation will be Wednesday 1:00 PM to 9:00 PM at New Hope Funeral Home. Services will be held at the New Hope School Auditorium, Thursday at 3:00 pm with Rev. Dewayne Martin, Bro. Edwin Parks, Bro. Harold Kelly, and Bro. Wayne Walls officiating.

Interment will be in the Walker Cemetery.

www.nhfh.net

Uncategorized

32 thoughts on “Billy G. “Goat” Jones, Sr.

  1. So very sad to hear. Our community has lost a great man. Our lose is heavens reward. To the family you are all in our prayers. God bless and comfort you all.

  2. New Hope, It seems so small to say I have prayed for you, but then it only takes a moment for it to become HUGH when we realize to whom those prayers go. The creator of the universe is there to comfort you. Call out to Him. My heart aches, even from afar, for your loss. For all the families Goat has comforted during our time of sorrow, no one could have imagined, his time would have come so soon.

  3. We are so very sorry about your loss. He was a great friend and relative. We will miss him a lot.

  4. Billy “Goat” Jones was one of a kind. He was everybody’s friend. There were times I wanted to choke him but later want to hug. I believe Goat touched more lives in a postive way than any one I know in New Hope. He will be missed. God bless this precious family.

    • This is a BIG LOSS for the community of New Hope!!! I believe Goat was the best Mayor ever for this small town of ours!!! He was always friendly and willing to help anyone!! So sad to hear of his passing !!! God bless you Goat for being there for so many people and helping them in their time of needs!!! May you rest in peace!!! Katherine Clark Fischer

  5. Goat will be missed very much in this community! I have been serving him for years and known him all my life and always looked Foward to see history smiling face and always picking at me!! New Hope has suffered a great loss!! You will be missed and loved Goat Jones!!

  6. i am sorry to hear of the passing of one of my high school friends and close running buddies as we grew up in new hope,there were four of us ,goat,jimmy paul landers,and larry dowdy.we were all together on weekends and we cared about each other.i have not been around goat for the past few years but i cared a lot for him and he was a great guy and cared about his community,i will never forget you buddy and will miss your smile when we wounld see each other,i love you buddy and i will see you again

  7. GOAT HAS ALWAYS BEEN LIKE FAMILY. HE HAS BEEN THERE SO MANY TIMES IN OUR TIMES OF NEED, IT IS SO SAD TO HEAR OF HIS PASSING. MY PRAYERS GO OUT TO HIS FAMILY.

  8. Things will never be the same when you walk in NHFH, without him. The Lord Blessed us with a special friend, now the Lord has carried him home. May the Lord bless this family and give them strength until you see him again. Love, David and Diane

  9. Goat you truly showed us coming up in the Funeral business that it was not just a business, but about caring for people. God Bless you. I was honored to call you friend

  10. My deepest sympathy to Goat’s family and to the entire community at this sad loss of such a wonderful friend to all. He truly was there for all of us in our times of loss and need. He was one of a kind who will be greatly missed.

  11. to the family of billy jones ive known goat for years i had the privlidge of meeting his wife and 1 of his sons and let me say they are a wonderful bunch of people goat went thru a lot of family tradgic in our family he was there with comfort and helped us thru it.well its time to repay him my heart goes out to his family and yes goat will be highly miss [aryer and thots go to the family . Billie Pruitt & Family

  12. I am so sorry to hear about your loss. Goat (and the NHFH staff) has taken care of us a few times over the years and he did so not like we were customers, but like we were family. He always made our tragedy a little better. He will be greatly missed.

    I am praying for the entire family and the New Hope Funeral Home family as well. If there is anything I can do, please do not hesitate to contact me. You have my number as Billy Jones Jr. and Brad Spivey just helped us a couple of weeks ago and did it with such compassion, I know that Goat will live on thru you. Prayers are going up for all of you. Thank you all so very much.

  13. To the family of Goat Jones. You all were very Blessed to have such a great man as part of your family. We all loved him and worked great together with him. Our Prayers will continue to be with you in the days and weeks to come. From your friends at Guntersville Memorial Chapel.

  14. Mr. Jones will greatly missed. I remember him, starting 1976, when my grand Pa Hill passed away. Several years later his wife. Since then several aunts and uncles. The last time was early May of 2011, one of my dad’s sisters passed away.

  15. Goat will be missed so much. He has helped us through so many hard times. He was a friend. I saw him june 4th, he gave me a hug and we talked and had a few laughs. Little did I know that would be my last time to see him. May it be a comfort to the family to know that he was loved by so many and touched so many people. He will never be forgotten. God bless his family and help them through this difficult and sad time.

  16. He was a great friend to the community that he loved. Our loss is Heaven’s gain. My thoughts and prayers are with his family and co-workers.

  17. Goat was a great man. He will be greatly missed. He was a very dear friend to the Waller and Keel families. We are all praying for his family and to those closest to him.

  18. Goat was a caring individual who always found a way to bring a smile or laugh. He always provided support to families during their time of need. God just added one more special person to His Kingdom. My prayers are with his family and those who cared for him at this time.

  19. Goat has been a true blessing for so many people and his caring nature has touched many people’s lives. It has not quiet been 2 years since he extended his caring to my family and me in the passing of my Father. Goat you will be missed greatly and my prayers go out to the Jones family.

  20. Goat was a wonderful man. He had a kind heart and a caring soul. He will be greatly missed by all who knew him. Prayers go out to his family during this time of sorrow. May God bless you all.

  21. Being a colleague in the funeral business, he was always genuine and easy to work with. He never refused to help, regardless of the day or hour which made him so dependable and rare in this day and time. He will be missed. My sincere condolences to his family.

  22. Goat, you will truely be miss. A wonderful friend to everyone you knew. I want his family to know they are in my prayers.

  23. Goat was truly a great man, I have known him all my life. When my dad passed in July of 2011 he helped our family much. He always had something nice and funny to say. I remember him coming to where I worked when I was in High school, always sitting drinking coffee with him and talking about the day. He was the one who gave me the name little Ray guess I will never hear that again. Jones family u r in my thoughts and prayers. I know how u boys feel. He always treated me like a part of his family. I will miss him I thought the world of him and loved him. With my deepest sympathy Gwen Caswell

  24. There are several comments I totally agree with…Goat was a very caring, compassionate person. As Linda said, I would want to croke him one minute (usually for teasing) and hug him the next. He and I shared a couple of very old stories from our days at NHHS everytime we saw each other. He always made me laugh. I am praying for the entire family and the community for your loss.

  25. I am greatly saddened by the loss of this very humble, compassionate, trustworthy, honest gentleman! I will never forget the smile, the light hearted jokes, the passion for others and the deepness of caring exemplified by “Goat” !! He had a rare gift….one of monopolizing the listening instead of the talking…sign of a truly Wise Man! My heart felt sympathy.

Leave a Reply

