John W. Kennedy

7/29/1955-4/16/2011

John W. Kennedy was killed in an accident in New Orleans, Louisiana, while working as a construction supervisor.  He is survived by a son, Josiah Kennedy of New Hope, mother, Dorcas Laurine Gurley of Grant, a sister, Diane Bradshaw (Henry) of Orange Park, FL; a step-brother, Thomas Gurley (Donna) of Owens Cross Roads; a step-sister, Ann Hawkins (Donnie) of Owens Cross Roads, an adopted brother, Robert Tuten of Grant, an uncle, Ronald Cryer of Grant, and an aunt, Becky Rowe (Jerry) of Guntersville. John leaves behind his fiancee, Gale Cook and her son, Eric Cook and grandchildren as well as several great aunts, nieces, and nephews.  He is also survived by his former wife, Kathy McCray Kennedy of Leesburg, GA; a step-son, Joshua McCray of Leesburg, GA; and a grandson, Tanner McCray also of Leesburg.

Preceding him in death is his father, Ted H. Kennedy; his brother Ted A. Kennedy; his step-father, John R. Gurley; his grandparents, Johnny and Flora Kennedy and Cleo Cryer, and Lucille Maples.

John’s employer and friend was Vice Construction of Mosspoint, MS, and was formerly employed by Morris-Shea Bridge Company and Berkel Construction.

Visitation will be Thursday 4:00 PM to 8:00 PM at New Hope Funeral Home. Services will be held at New Hope Funeral Home Chapel, Friday at 11:00 am with Scotty Webb officiating.

Uncategorized

8 thoughts on “John W. Kennedy

  1. I cannot believe this has happened to my friend. I will forever and always miss, remember and love him.
    Thank you Johnnie for being my friend.

  2. Thank You For Being A Great Friend. I Will Miss You !!!! Your Laughter Will Go On Forever.You Were A Great Friend.

  3. John was a great man and we were priviledged to know him. He was a very hard worker that cared about his work and his men. Our thoughts and prayers are with the family.

  4. We will miss you john, you always had a way of putting a smile on everyones face, It was a pleasure being your friend,we will never forget you, our thoughts asnd prayers go out to your family….fly high and fly free my friend…

  5. It was a pleasure to have known and worked with Mr. Kennedy. I am deeply saddened to hear of your loss. My heartfelt sympathies go out to Mr. John’s family and friends. May the peace which comes from the memories of love shared, comfort you now and in the days ahead.

    Elise Clark
    Ocean Springs, MS

  6. Johnny;
    You will never be gone from my heart; you were and still are forever the love of my life!!!!
    I thank you for the memories a person is so lucky to get to experience in a life time!!
    Playing our song and pulling off the road in the moon light and dancing infront of the truck headlights to the song- “Into the Mystic Moon and Have I told you lately how much I Love you”!!! just to name a few—?
    while singing the song that was meant for only each other, so that when we were away from each other and heard that song we knew who was on our mind..?

    The times of picking each other up at their lowest point and the times of never judging never!!! one another!! just taking the bad moments and being able to laugh at them because that didn’t matter to us; only making and appreciating the moment together at the time.. Tuning out the other daily lifes we lived.
    I knew your heart just like you knew mine!! We all got meaness in us but we all got love too, and thats what we will alway have!!!
    I love you forever and hope god takes care of you!!! and you feel how much I miss you and will always love you! you go rest and just feel love.. not this cruel world.
    I knew exactly who you were just like you did me–thats why in over 20+++ years we never got mad at one another just laughed who was worse off!!!!
    I love you forever & ever;
    Shirley G Doran

  7. So sad tonight that I didn’t hear this sooner. I’ve been gone for along time, John you are sorely missed. I am where I am today because of John Kennedy. You will never leave my thoughts. I know that your in a better place now my friend. Rest easy.

Leave a Reply

